Camotes group of islands is located 34 nautical miles northeast of Cebu City. It is composed of three major islands which is divided into four municipalities namely:

  • Municipality of San Francisco (Pacijan Island)
  • Municipality of Poro (Poro Island)
  • Municipality of Tudela (Poro Island)
  • Municipality of Pilar (Ponson Island)

Camotes got its name during the spanish era, when a local planting a camote crop was asked by the spaniards. the local thought that the spaniards are asking what he/she is planting, so he/she simply replied "camote."